Thursday, September 24, 2009

Ministers Association officers hold annual planning meeting.

Officers of the Church of the Brethren Ministers Association held their annual planning meeting on Aug. 26-27 at the church’s General Offices in Elgin, Ill. The group spent time evaluating the association activities of 2009 and planning for next year’s continuing education event that will once again take place ahead of Annual Conference on July 2-3 in Pittsburgh, Pa.

The presenter for the 2010 event will be Nancy Ferguson, a Presbyterian minister, author, and certified Christian educator. Her topic will be, "Faith Forming Outside the Box." Advance registration fees will remain the same: $60 for individuals and $90 for couples. The association will continue to offer one-half off discount registration fees for first-time participants. Online registration will be available again next year. Additional details will be made available in the "Lead" section of the denominational website

The Ministers Association officers include chair Nancy Fitzgerald of Arlington, Va.; vice-chair Sue Richard of Lima, Ohio; vice-chair Chris Zepp of Bridgewater, Va.; and treasurer Rebecca House of Union Bridge, Md. Mary Jo Flory-Steury, executive director of Ministry for the Church of the Brethren, also met with the group.

The officers at this meeting welcomed Dave Kerkove of Adel, Iowa, who is replacing newly confirmed officer Myrna Wheeler. She is unable to serve due to illness.

-- Sue Richard is vice-chair of the Ministers Association.

Source: 9/24/2009 Newsline

No comments: