Thursday, August 25, 2011

Minister's Association Officers annual fall retreat held

The Minister's Association met in Elgin August 10-11, for their annual fall retreat. Members include Chris Zepp, Chair; Rebecca House, Treasurer; Dave Kerkove, Joel Kline, and Erin Matteson; with Mary Jo Flory-Steury, Executive Director of Ministry, serving as staff liaison to the group. The charter and purpose of The Minister's Association is: " to provide a forum for ministers to explore issues that affect their life and work; to serve as an advocate voice for ministers in the denomination; to strengthen ties of individuals and the Minister's Association with the wider church; to offer ministers continuing education opportunities."

This group is responsible for planning the pre-Annual Conference professional growth event for ministers both licensed and ordained, and anyone else interested. As the group met, they adopted a new budget for 2012; recommitted to the fullness of their charter, looked at fresh ways to live that out through Annual Conference and District insight sessions, a new brochure, and more communication with local clergy groups and those newly out in ministry; began planning for the 2012 pre-Annual Conference event with Walter Brueggemann and brainstormed topics and leaders for future events.

The pre-Annual Conference event will be on July 6-7, 2012 in St. Louis, Mo. Note: Change in start time - Friday, July 6 @ 6:00 p.m. Sessions will be held Friday evening, Saturday morning, and Saturday afternoon. The event will conclude at 3:30 p.m. on Saturday. If there are questions or ideas to share, please contact Chris Zepp.

No comments: