Wednesday, July 07, 2010

Harvey is chosen as moderator-elect, and more elections and appointments.

Tim Harvey, pastor of Roanoke (Va.) Central Church of the Brethren, was elected Annual Conference moderator-elect. The Nominating Committee of the Standing Committee of district delegates developed the slate of candidates, and Standing Committee voted to create the ballot that was presented to the 2010 delegate body.

As moderator-elect of Annual Conference, Harvey will serve for the next year in the second-highest elected position in the Church of the Brethren, assisting 2011 moderator Robert Alley to lead the Conference next year. In 2010 Harvey will serve in the highest elected position in the church as moderator of the 2012 Annual Conference.

Having grown up in Broadway, Va., his home congregation is Bethel Church of the Brethren in Broadway. He holds a bachelor of science degree in chemistry from Virginia Tech and a master of divinity from Eastern Mennonite Seminary. He is an ordained minister and his pastoral career also has included service as youth minister/associate pastor at Dayton (Va.) Church of the Brethren, and as pastor at New Hope Church of the Brethren in Stuart, Va.

He was a member of the Church of the Brethren General Board 2003-08, and chair of the board from 2007-08. He currently is chair of Congregations in Action, an interfaith group of nine Roanoke congregations partnering in a local, public elementary school. He and his wife Lynette have three children, Emily, Zachary, and Rose.

Other election results:
Annual Conference Program and Arrangements Committee:
Eric Bishop of Pomona, Calif.
Pastoral Compensation and Benefits Advisory Committee:
Mark Doramus of Middleton, Idaho.
Committee on Interchurch Relations:
Christina Singh of Panora, Iowa.
Mission and Ministry Board:
Area 1 -- Pamela Reist of Mount Joy, Pa.; Area 4 -- Tim Peter of Prairie City, Iowa; Area 5 -- Gilbert Romero of Los Angeles, Calif.
Bethany Theological Seminary Trustee:
representing the clergy -- John David Bowman of Lititz, Pa.; representing the laity -- Lynn Myers of Rocky Mount, Va.
Brethren Benefit Trust Board:
Wayne T. Scott of Harrisburg, Pa.
On Earth Peace Board:
Gail Erisman Valeta of Denver, Colo.
Confirmations of agency ppointments and nominations:
Mission and Ministry Board:
Rebecca Ball-Miller of Goshen, Ind., and Brian Messler of Emmitsburg, Md.
On Earth Peace Board:
Carol Mason of Centralia, Wash., and Donna Shumate of Sparta, N.C.
Bethany Theological Seminary Board of Trustees:
Elaine Gibble of Lititz, Pa., and Paul Wampler of Manassas, Va.
Brethren Benefit Trust Board:
Eunice Culp of Goshen, Ind.; Karen Orpurt Crim of Dayton, Ohio; and Michael B. Leiter of Frederick, Md.
Elections and appointments made by Standing Committee:
World Council of Churches representative:
Michael L. Hostetter, pastor of Salem Church of the Brethren in Englewood, Ohio, with R. Jan Thompson of Bridgewater, Va., as alternate.
Nominating Committee of Standing Committee:
Leah Hileman from Atlantic Southeast District, Ed Garrison from Illinois and Wisconsin District, Cathy S. Huffman from Virlina District, and Steve Sauder from West Marva District.
Appeals Committee of Standing Committee:
Jeff Carter from Mid-Atlantic District, Eileen Wilson from Oregon and Washington District, Jim Hoffman from Southeastern District, with alternates Frank Polzin of Michigan District and Shirley Wampler of Virlina District.
Annual Conference Program Feasibility Study Committee:
David Crumrine of Middle Pennsylvania District.
Elections and appointments by the Mission and Ministry Board:
Executive Committee of the Mission and Ministry Board:
Andy Hamilton and Barbra Davis (Dale Minnich continues as chair, and Ben Barlow continues as chair-elect).
Program Feasibility Study Committee:
LeAnn Wine, executive director of Systems and Services.
Mission and Ministry Planning Council:
Terry Lewis.
Source: 7/7/2010 Newsline

No comments: