Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Northern Indiana District holds 149th recorded conference.

The 149th recorded Northern Indiana District Conference was held Sept. 19-20 at Camp Mack near Milford, Ind. Conference leadership was provided by David Wysong, moderator; Tim Waits, moderator-elect; and Roger Haupert, clerk. At this year’s conference, 127 delegates, out of 144 people registered, were present.

Friday evening worship was led by pastor Tim Waits and members of the Rock Run Worship Team. David Shumate, Annual Conference moderator, was present from Virginia as the guest preacher. The offering totaling $1,834 was divided between the Ministry Scholarship Fund and the District Disaster Fund.

Business included the usual reports from the District Board, Standing Committee, Camp Mack, Timbercrest retirement community, Manchester College, and denominational agencies. The ballot/slate brought by the Personnel Committee was approved and the following people were called to district leadership: Mary Haupert as moderator-elect; Dwayne Runkle and Reta Middaugh to the District Board; Jan Nicodemus and Janet Kagarise to the Personnel Committee; Becky Morris to the Program and Arrangements Committee; and Roger Haupert as clerk.

District Board appointments were confirmed including Mike Dilling to the Indiana Camp Board, and Kevin Morrison and Kim Betz to the Timbercrest Board. At-large members to the Indiana Camp Board and Manchester College were also confirmed.

In other business, the 2009 proposed district budget of $179,400 was approved. Also, a query from Beacon Heights Church of the Brethren was approved to be sent to Annual Conference in 2009 in San Diego, Calif. The query asks whether the current language on same-sex covenantal relationships will continue to guide our journey together.

New pastors to the Northern Indiana district were recognized during the District Board report, as was Training in Ministry graduate Guy Biddle. Nate Freeze and Krista Mevis, who served as the district youth heritage team during the past year, were recognized as the 2008 Volunteers of the Year.

The Northern Indiana District Conference will return to Camp Mack next year on Sept. 18-19 with Tim Waits serving as moderator.

--This report is taken from the newsletter of Northern Indiana District.

Source: 10/29/2008 Newsline Extra

No comments: