Thursday, July 14, 2011

Next church webinar is on ‘Befriending a New Vision.’

"Befriending a New Vision" is the title of the next Church of the Brethren webinar scheduled for Sept. 27 and 29. Roger Shenk will share from his experience of walking with a congregation through discovery and renewal while honoring its tradition. Shenk is pastor of Bahia Vista Mennonite Church, a 60-year old church in Sarasota, Fla., that, in 2009, began to take bold yet thoughtful steps in revitalizing its approach to ministry.

The topic will connect with many leaders and congregational members as a candid discussion about leading an established church through the process of renewing itself without dishonoring the past or the people who still find meaning in it. Relevant subjects will including the roles of prayer and preaching, how to befriend new people who question doctrines that Brethren identify around, helping people navigate the fears of displacement, and the principle of "the Fridge."

Webinar times are Tuesday, Sept. 27, at 3:30-5 p.m. (eastern) or 12:30-2 p.m. (Pacific); and Thursday, Sept. 29, at 8-9:30 p.m. (eastern) or 5-6:30 p.m. (Pacific). The content repeats on Thursday. A continuing education credit of 0.1 is available for those who participate in the live session, through the Brethren Academy for Ministerial Leadership.

Go to For more information contact Stan Dueck, director of Transforming Practices for the Church of the Brethren, 717-335-3226 or

No comments: