Thursday, May 05, 2011

Bethany Seminary to celebrate 106th commencement.

On May 7, Bethany Theological Seminary will celebrate its 106th commencement, at the seminary campus in Richmond, Ind. Two observances will mark the occasion. A ceremony for conferring degrees will take place in Nicarry Chapel at 10 a.m. Admittance to this ceremony is by ticket only. A worship service, open to the public, will be held in Nicarry Chapel at 2:30 p.m.

Commencement speaker and former "Messenger" editor Fletcher Farrar will give an address titled "Nicodemus at Dawn," based on Isaiah 59:9-19 and John 3:1-10, at the academic ceremony. Three members of the graduating class will speak at the afternoon service: Anna Lisa Gross, Kimberly Koczan Flory, and Larry Taylor.

Ten students will receive master of divinity degrees, eight will receive master of arts, and two will receive a certificate of achievement in theological studies.

Those who will receive a master of divinity are Craig L. Gandy of Peru, Ind.; Anna Lisa Gross, Richmond, Ind.; Rebecca M. Harding, Fort Wayne, Ind.; Kimberly C. Koczan Flory, Fort Wayne, Ind.; Benjamin R.G. Polzin, Richmond, Ind.; Daniel L. Rudy, Richmond, Ind.; Lee D. Saylor, James Creek, Pa.; Christine Ann Sheller, Des Moines, Iowa; Justin Trent Smith, New Lebanon, Ohio; and Lawrence Russell Taylor, Cincinnati, Ohio.

Those who will receive a master of arts degree are Jabani Adzibiya, Adamawa State, Nigeria; Matthew Boersma, Greensburg, Ind.; Laurie J. Diaz, Chambersburg, Pa.; Christopher D. Fretz, Richmond, Ind.; Lindsey Kate Frye, Richmond, Ind.; Travis Edward Turner Poling, Richmond, Ind.; Monica Rice, Richmond, Ind.; Karen Roberts, Richmond, Ind.

Those who will receive a certificate of achievement in theological studies are Gieta M. Gresh, Denton, Md., and Renee Jeane Vrtiska, Gibsonia, Pa.

-- Jenny Williams is Advancement Office coordinator at Bethany Seminary.

No comments: