Wednesday, April 20, 2011

A Report on Bethany Seminary's Board of Trustees meeting.

Bethany Seminary's Board of Trustees held their semi-annual meeting March 25-27, 2011, at the Richmond, Ind., campus. Reports from all areas of the Seminary were received, and several action items were heard and passed, including
  • Personal reflections from board members Rhonda Pittman Gingrich and Lynn Myers on Bethany's role as an academic institution and its relationship to the Church of the Brethren

  • Granted tenure to Steven Schweitzer, Academic Dean, and promoted Dawn Ottoni-Wilhelm to the rank of professor

  • Approved new and continuing leadership for the board: Carol Scheppard, chair; Lynn Myers, vice chair; Marty Farahat, secretary; Lisa Hazen, chair, Academic Affairs Committee; Elaine Gibbel, chair, Institutional Advancement Committee; and Rex Miller, chair, Student and Business Affairs Committee

  • Received and accepted the resignation of trustee Raymond Donadio and appointed Katherine J. Melhorn to complete his term

  • Recognized Michele Firebaugh, chair, Investment Committee, with ten years as a board trustee, and Jim Dodson, chair, Student and Business Affairs Committee, with thirteen years as a board trustee, as they conclude their terms

  • Recognized Marcia Shetler, as she leaves fifteen years of service as director of communications and public relations

  • Received a report from the Brethren Academy for Ministerial Leadership on the launch of Seminario Biblico Anabautista Hispano (SeBAH-CoB) in partnership with the Mennonite Education Agency

  • Approved the proposed budget for 2011-2012, several board policies, Presidential Forum funding, authorization regarding financial accounts, and consultation for the Advancement Department

  • Approved, pending completion of requirements, the 2011 graduating class of twenty, the largest class since Bethany's relocation to Richmond in 1994
More detailed information is available from

No comments: